Short Walk on the long Beach….


A most impressive acoustic song. Written by John D. Loudermilk and performed with soul by Chet Atkins. Released in 1969 .

by Christina G. Rossetti

Remember me when I am gone away,
Gone far away into the silent land;
When you can no more hold me by the hand,
Nor I half turn to go yet turning stay.
Remember me when no more day by day
You tell me of our future that you plann’d;
Only remember me; you understand
It will be late to counsel then or pray.
Yet if you should forget me for a while
And afterwards remember, do not grieve:
For if the darkness and corruption leave
A vestige of the thoughts that once I had,
Better by far you should forget and smile
Than that you should forget and smile

5 thoughts on “Short Walk on the long Beach….

  1. I love Chet Atkins. He was the very VERY best guitarist ever in my opinion. I had so many of his albums. Travel everywhere and not being in the Country for some years saw to the attrition of the albums and many things that were in toorage. Sadly..they are gone BUT one can always buy them again.

    The verse you placed here is very evokative,my friend.

    C

    1. Ich genieße den Klang der musik, und in der Tat mein Sonntag war Sonnig und hell am tag. Am Besten, sie mein Freund. William Walden

  2. Ein schönes Gedicht am Tag als du geganen bist abe es mir mit Gooel Übersetzt.Wünsche noch einen schönen Nachmittag mit lieben Gruss Gislinde.

Comments are closed.